across the nonprofit blogosphere

I read a lot of blogs [note to self:  get going on that blogroll].  While many of them are purely hedonistic, I love reading about what other nonprofit folks are doing.  As part of Blogging for Branding’s 31 Days to a Brand New Blog” challenge, I compiled a list of  posts that recently  inspired and educated me. 

Nonprofit Leadership

Jessica Journey offers new insight into the diversity of the sector with “Major Perspectives.”  Forensic science? English? We are definitely a motley crew! This just proves that there is not one set path to a nonprofit career. 

Getting to the Point

Katya Andresen’s (who describes herself as “impatient to do good”) nonprofit marketing blog always makes me think, and I mean hard.  She examines her profession with a critical eye, yet proposes solutions.  Her most recent post addresses the fact that while organizations that rate charities believe that the practice is unsound, many donors still unfairly rely on rating nonprofit organizations’ effectiveness based solely on “overhead” costs due to the lack of a comprehensive national assessment tool.   

techcafeteria

Peter Campbell writes from the perspective of a nonprofit technology professional, bringing awareness and insight to a much-maligned career.  I’m a bit of a technophile, so I have nothing but respect for the people who take our grandiose ideas and make them reality.  Although I recently wrote about Rush Limbaugh’s ill-informed attack on nonprofit employees, this latest post takes it a step further by demonstrating how such irresponsible bluster can potentially lead to violence.

Let me know what nonprofit blogs I should follow in the comments!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

7 thoughts on “across the nonprofit blogosphere

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention across the nonprofit blogosphere « Cabinet of Curiosities -- Topsy.com

    • Thanks for adding your blog! I’ll definitely check out your list, I’m always looking for new blogs to read.

      Like

  2. hey adrrianne,
    popped over from #31bnb. great list. I’ll have to check them out esp the it one, this is a constant issue in my nonprof offc. also really like your “about the blog” remind me of mine – I have a lot of things going on and want to use my blog to capture as much of it as i can.

    Like

    • IT is a huge concern for nonprofits large and small. If you don’t have our technology game together, you are in big trouble!

      Like

    • You’re welcome! The challenge has been a lot of fun and very informative. I’m shaping up to become a more disciplined blogger. 🙂 Congrats on your great work!

      Like

Comments are closed.