nonprofit nerd reads

Fall has finally arrived!  Since I live (happily) in a museum bubble, fall means  school visits, studio art classes and new exhibitions.   For me, it’s all about art right now, thus my book selections for the month: 

Through African Eyes: The European in African Art, 1500 to Present, by Nii O.  Quarcoopome.  After opening at Detroit Institute of Arts, this exhibition just arrived at The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.   I got a quick peek at the copy that made its way around the Education Department but I definitely want to add it to my exhibition catalog collection. 

 

 

 

Strapless, by Deborah Davis.   I love discovering the history of famous paintings and the tale behind John Singer Sargent‘s Madame X  is salacious! Originally painted with a strap of Madame Pierre Gautreau’s dress dangling seductively from one shoulder (as depicted in this photo) Sargent altered the portrait after the scandalous uproar both the pose and suggestive dress caused.   Considering that Mme. Gautreau was the Parisian “It Girl” of her time, I am curious to see how Sargent and “Madame X” met at the intersection of art and infamy.   

  

The $12 Million Stuffed Shark, by Don Thompson.  I’m excited to dig into this economist’s examination of the conditions that contribute to the recent skyrocketing prices in the contemporary art market.  It promises an in-depth look into the shadowy world of artists, dealerships, auction houses and buyers that fuel the machine.

  

  

 

Priceless: How I Went Undercover to Rescue the World’s Stolen Treasures, by Robert K. Wittman with John Shiffman.    Going undercover to bring art scammers and swindlers to justice sounds like fiction, but Wittman is the founder of the FBI’s Art Crime Team which has recovered over $142 million in stolen objects.  After you swipe a Vermeer, where can you possibly unload it? I’m definitely interested in learning more about the shadowy stolen art underworld.

 

 

 Please share your favorite art-related books in the comments!

 
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 thoughts on “nonprofit nerd reads

  1. I enjoy reading and art fascinates me. The book, Strapless is too good to pass up. The subject matter is interesting. I have to include it in my must-read list. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. Pingback: forever, forever, ever, forever, ever « Cabinet of Curiosities

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention nonprofit nerd reads « Cabinet of Curiosities -- Topsy.com

  4. I just finished Strapless. Wonderful read. Your next study should definitely be ‘Making the Mummies Dance’ by Thomas Hoving!! You’ll love it. It’s comparable to living a soap opera, reading a gossip magazine and revisiting your art history courses all at once!

    Like

    • I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed Strapless! I just reserved the book you recommended at the library. Apparently, scandal is also one of the themes for this month, so that fits right in!

      Like

Comments are closed.