on 2011 commitments & lack of postage

it's our anniversary, made for you & me

Somewhere in the midst of the 2010 holiday hub-bub, I realized that my blog was a year old!   I am proud of the fact that I maintained it for 365 days.  It was a complete leap of faith to put my myriad ramblings up for scrutiny on the interwebs, so I was thrilled to get real-life subscribers [thankyouthankyouthankyou] and positive mentions from my blogging cohorts.   It has been loads of fun and I definitely feel like my writing is improving, so the effort has been totally worth it!

After reviewing last year’s posts, I noticed I would have rapid-fire flurries of content [usually fueled by my raging against the machine], then my posting would slow down for days or weeks and ultimately pick up again.  Wash, rinse, repeat.  That’s no way to exercise my writing muscles or acknowledge the people and spammy linkbots who have taken the time to point their Google readers in my general direction. 

I usually refrain from New Years resolutions [if you made them double-check right now to make sure you aren’t already falling off] but I do enjoy making commitments: practical, S.M.A.R.T., easily digestible goals.   This method helps me avoid the crippling “new year, new you or else” pressure and makes goal-setting fun rather than a dreaded chore.

With that in mind, I’m joining the Post a Week Challenge sponsored by WordPress.   It’s pretty self-explanatory [I thank them for keeping it simple] and will definitely help me stay committed to posting on a regular basis.   So stay tuned for [at least] weekly doses of my opinions,  champagne wishes and caviar dreams.

Thanks to everyone who has stuck with me thus far and welcome to the newbies.  I’m excited to see what 2011 brings!

Add to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

4 thoughts on “on 2011 commitments & lack of postage

  1. Yay! You can do it! I’m excited to see what comes of the challenge, but I must admit as a frequent reader of your blog that I love the “raging against the machine” rapid-fire flurries. You write with a lot of passion and it’s contagious. Like Chelsea, I’m looking forward to reading!

    Like

Comments are closed.