h-town bound!

Recently, I wrote a post about the challenges of securing nonprofit professional development funding.  Thankfully, I am not prone to ignoring my own advice because one tip–applying for fellowships to in-person conferences–definitely paid off: I was selected as a 2011 American Association of Museums (AAM) Diversity Fellow to attend the 2011 AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo in Houston, TX May 22-25.

My first trip to Houston was a whirlwind two days when I was a kid, so I am excited about experiencing  more of the city, particularly all of the fun adult things my parents got to do! I plan to cram as much sightseeing and museum-hopping into my schedule as humanly possible.

It also goes without saying that I am thrilled by the opportunity to learn from so many dynamic, innovative and hard-working museum professionals.  As a museum wonk, deciding which sessions to attend has been challenging as they all interest me.  But after days of careful deliberation, my schedule is finally set.

If you follow me on Twitter, you already know my tweets are museum-heavy, but be warned: it’s about to go into overload!  You can also find other chatter about the meeting via Twitter by following @AAMers or searching #aam2011.

Are you attending the AAM Annual Meeting? I’d love to meet  you! Many thanks to AAM, its Committee for Diversity in Museums (DivCom) and The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

2 thoughts on “h-town bound!

Comments are closed.