nonprofit nerd reads

While I’m extremely grateful for the free coffee and tea in the company break room, what really excites me is the new Read & Recycle Bookshop.  Yep, that’s right, FREE books, magazines and CDs available just steps away from my office! The idea–take what you want, leave what you can–really speaks to the book lover (and hunter) in me.  Every time I go in there, which is pretty often, I find something new.   This installment of nonprofit nerd reads highlights some of the books I’ve discovered in this miraculous place.

The Fourth Stage of Gainsborough Brown by Clarissa Watson.   Eccentric painter, gallery shenanigans, seemingly accidental death and an amateur sleuth armed with nothing but a sketch pad.  What’s not to love, right?

 

 

 

Winter in the Blood by James Welch focuses on a dysfunctional, destructive and inexplicably likeable young man stumbling through life as he struggles with identity, ethnicity and tragedy against the harsh backdrop of the Montana wilderness. 

 

 

The Ruins by Scott Smith.  This is my second reading of this novel, and it still gives me nightmares.  Set in Cancun, Mexico, four American tourists detour from their dream vacation to help a German tourist track down his missing brother, to disastrous results.  A disturbing tale of what can happen when you don’t stick to your vacation itinerary.

 

Have you stumbled across any literary finds lately?

2 thoughts on “nonprofit nerd reads

  1. I, too, have found some wonderful gems in the Reading Recyle Room–Tracks by Louise Erdrich, The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison, and Rosario Ferre’s Eccentric Neighborhoods, plus many more! I love there is such a nice variety and the books get to live on through new owners.

    Like

Comments are closed.