art break: leonardo lives

It’s no secret that I’m an art geek. I keep running lists in my head of must-see works of art. While I’ve been fortunate to check some off the list, I fear that many will never be personally experienced for various reasons (namely the lack of a private jet.)

So until my Powerball plan goes into effect, I will have to view the objects of my art obsessions in other ways. To that end, I had the pleasure of seeing Leonardo Live, an in-depth presentation of The National Gallery’s exhibition Leonardo da Vinci: Painter at the Court of Milan which ran November 9, 2011 – February 5, 2012.

Tivioli Cinemas presented the film and the theater was packed for a weekday afternoon showing which did my art loving heart good. It was clear evidence that da Vinci remains one of the most enigmatic and fascinating characters in history.

The HD presentation was visually stunning. I experienced several moments of euphoria as the film delivered frame after frame of eye-popping visuals. Artists, actors, biographers, curators, scholars, musicians and educators discussed key works interspersed with details regarding da Vinci’s development as a musician, painter, engineer and teacher in Milan and back-of-house insight into the exhibition’s installation, organization, curation and conservation.

I particularly enjoyed National Gallery Director Dr. Nicholas Penny’s delicate tap-dance as he addressed his very public disdain of “blockbuster” exhibitions in contrast with overseeing what will most assuredly become known as one of the most successful and well-attended exhibitions in the world.

I hope that more museums adopt this method of presenting their collections and exhibitions. For a frustrated jet-setter like me, it’s the next best thing to being there.

Check here to see if Leonardo Live is playing near you.

One thought on “art break: leonardo lives

  1. Pingback: 2012 museums in review | Cabinet of Curiosities

Comments are closed.