nonprofit nerd reads

I just returned from the Association of American Museums Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo. One of the things I love about the gathering is there’s always an official bookstore. My budget only allowed window shopping, but here’s what’s on my wish list.

The Quality Instinct: Seeing Art Through a Museum Director’s Eye by Maxwell L. Anderson. This book promises reflections and insights on a 30-year career in museums, along with advice on viewing art. While I hope for insider dirt, I’m sure Mr. Anderson has too much class to indulge in that.

A Life in Museums: Managing Your Museum Career by Greg Stevens & Wendy Luke. Considering the most-viewed post on this blog is about professional development and I’m often asked how to enter the museum field professionally (Shameless plug alert: I am currently fielding offers – hire me!), this book is right on time, offering common-sense advice for all stages of museum careers.

All Together Now: Museums and Online Collaborative Learning by Will B. Crow and Wei-Hsin Din. There is practically unlimited potential for designing museum education programs that include multiple disciplines, involve worldwide audiences, and position museums as community engagement centers. This book examines the idea of the “digital commons” and provides in-depth case studies.

Any museum-related books that you’re excited about?

