building a cabinet of curiosities

museum of wonder

Courtesy Beach Museum of Art

Apologies for the lack of postage! Preparing for an exhibition opening, event-wrangling, and battling the Cold From Hell has worn me out. By the time I dragged myself home each day, the last thing I wanted to do was deal with anything else digitally.

But like a true tech nerd, I couldn’t stay away long. After a long weekend of recuperation, I’m coming out of my Nyquil-induced haze, excited about the digital resources we’ve amassed to accompany the Museum of Wonder exhibition at the Beach Museum of Art. The exhibition is a gathering of eclectic objects in true “cabinet of curiosities” style from individuals and departments all across the Kansas State University community. Adjacent to the exhibition is the Library of Wonder, a hands-on interactive reading room collaboratively curated with K-State Libraries, where the digital resources are accessible via a touch-screen computer.

Museum of Wonder thrills me for many reasons, one of which is the opportunity to see an exhibition mounted with minimal didactic info that encourages people to look, question, explore, and discover on their own time and in their own way. This can be radical, especially in the museum world where classification and categorization is typically the name of the game. No “Sage on the Stage”, no “experts”, no labels. Just you, your imagination, and a whole lot of stuff.

Museum of Wonder is a special exhibition honoring K-State’s 150th Anniversary and runs February 12 – October 13, 2013. 

