summer plans

Storms are rolling through the Prairie and temperatures are rising. Summer has officially arrived! With that comes increased activity among museums as they  present a staggering amount of summer programming. I was knee-deep in that world when I worked in the Education Department at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art but now that my core audience at the Beach Museum of Art is primarily college students, summer is not nearly as hectic as it used to be. It feels strange to contemplate taking a vacation in July!

meadow 052413

The Meadow. Personal photo by Adrianne Russell

However, just because the campus is a bit quieter doesn’t mean there isn’t work to be done. On the public programs side, we’re hosting two community open houses celebrating new exhibitions and a Maker Workshop for teens focusing on printmaking in collaboration with the Manhattan Public Library.

Work will continue this summer on The Meadow, a sustainable native plant garden located behind the Beach Museum, which is very exciting and takes me back to my landscaping days in AmeriCorps working with Habitat for HumanityI’m part of a team administering the project’s blog.

In August, we’re hosting a GLAM-WIKI workshop for university professors led by Wikipedian and Kansas State University graduate student Alex Stinson. I’m excited that this program went from conception to implementation in less than a year, which is very quickly in museum-planning time.

Fall 2013 programming is nearly locked down (knock on wood), so now I must turn my futurist eye to programs for 2014 and beyond. Ideas that I’m mulling over include design thinking projects, 3-D printing, and student-led art programs.

Wow, did I say summer wasn’t busy? I take that back!

3 thoughts on “summer plans

  1. Pingback: going to wichita | Cabinet of Curiosities

Comments are closed.