For the Love of Al Green: Revisiting Bunch’s “Flies in the Buttermilk” 15 Years On

From one “fly” to another, I applaud this post by Porschia Moore. Actually, I can’t clap and co-sign hard or loud enough!

the incluseum

As you might have gathered by now, we’ve been publishing a new blogpost every day this week in preparation for the 2015 AAM Annual Meeting. Today, we hear from our regular contributor, Porchia Moore. As she’s getting ready to attend her first AAM Annual Meeting, she’s been compelled to revisit Lonnie Bunch’s 2000 essay “Flies in the Buttermilk: Museums, Diversity, and the Will to Change”. 15 years later, how does this essay resonate with the field? Read on to hear her perspective.

* * * *

It’s hard not to like a good ‘ole Al Green tune. “Love and Happiness” sends delicious slivers up my spine and my body shifts into an instant sway. In his now classic essay, “Flies in the Buttermilk: Museums, Diversity, and the Will to Change” published in 2000, Lonnie Bunch references these mesmerizing lyrics from Green’s 1971 hit “I’m So Tired”:

I’m so tired…

View original post 1,241 more words

